Air quality during the Corona Lockdown

Measurement campaign during the lockdown

On May 9th, an extraordinary measurement campaign of two subprojects of the BMBF-Programme 'Urban Climate in Change' took place in Stuttgart. Researchers from the Institute of Combustion and Power Plant Technology (IfK; sub-project leader: Dr.-Ing. Ulrich Vogt) at the University of Stuttgart, the Forschungszentrum Jülich (FZ Jülich; sub-project leader Dr. Dieter Klemp) and the German Aerospace Center (DLR) undertook extensive measurements of air pollutants. The FZ Jülich researchers used a large zeppelin equipped with measuring instruments flying above Stuttgart at an altitude of several hundred metres, after having previously carried out measurements in the Cologne-Bonn area. The aim of FZ Jülich for the Rhineland was to measure the effects of the lockdown due to the corona pandemic on air quality.

At the same time as the Zeppelin, the measurement vehicle with the mobile laboratory (MobiLab) of FZ Jülich, the measurement bicycle of the IfK and a measurement vehicle of the DLR were also in use in Stuttgart. With the use of measuring vehicles and Zeppelin, extensive three-dimensional and spatially distributed data on air quality in Stuttgart could be obtained in addition to the usual station data. The focus of the measurements was on air pollutants such as fine dust, soot and carbon monoxide.

We are curious to hear about the results of the measurement campaign in Stuttgart. Do the campaigns in Stuttgart and  the Rhineland show an impact on air quality due to the lockdown? More information can be found on this website under Media.

The Principal Investigator of another sub-project (DLR, Thilo Erbertseder) also participated in a DLR study on the effects of the lockdown on air quality. Compared to last year, the Sentinel-5P satellite showed a strong global decrease of nitrogen dioxide (NO2). By incorporating long-term data from the European satellite MetOP-A, measurements at ground stations, consideration of weather-related fluctuations in NO2 concentrations and computer modelling, a strong reduction in air pollution over Lombardy was clearly shown. More information about the DLR study can be found on this website under Media.

 

a

Foto 1: Properly dressed scientists in front of the measurement vehicles of the FZ Jülich and the DLR. In the middle of the foto you may see the measuring bicycle of the IfK of the University of Stuttgart. © DLR/FrankEppler

 
b c
Foto 2: Discussion at the measurement bicycle. © DLR/FrankEppler Foto 3: Preparations for the measurement campaign. © DLR/Frank Eppler

Luftqualität in Zeiten des Lockdown

Messkampagne während des Lockdown

Am 09. Mai fand in Stuttgart eine außerplanmäßige und außergewöhnliche Messkampagne zweier Teilprojekte der BMBF-Fördermaßnahme ‚Stadtklima im Wandel‘ statt. Forscher des Instituts für Feuerungs- und Kraftwerkstechnik (IfK; Teilprojektleiter: Dr.-Ing. Ulrich Vogt) der Universität Stuttgart, des Forschungszentrums Jülich (FZ Jülich; Teilprojektleiter Dr. Dieter Klemp) sowie des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) unternahmen umfangreiche Messungen von Luftschadstoffen. Die Forscher des FZ-Jülich flogen mit einem großen, mit Messgeräten bestückten Zeppelin in mehreren 100 m Höhe über Stuttgart, nachdem sie zuvor Messungen in der Gegend von Köln-Bonn durchgeführt hatten. Ziel des FZ Jülich für das Rheinland war es, die Auswirkungen des Lockdown infolge der Corona-Pandemie auf die Luftqualität zu messen.

Gleichzeitig mit dem Zeppelin war in Stuttgart auch der Messwagen mit dem mobilen Labor (MobiLab) des FZ Jülich, das Messfahrrad des IfK sowie ein Messwagen des DLR im Einsatz. Mit dem Einsatz von Messfahrzeugen und Zeppelin konnten zusätzlich zu den üblichen Stationsdaten umfangreiche dreidimensionale und räumlich verteilte Daten zur Luftqualität in Stuttgart gewonnen werden. Der Fokus der Messungen lag hierbei auf Luftverunreinigungen wie Feinstaub, Ruß und Kohlenmonoxid.

Wir können gespannt auf die Ergebnisse der Messkampagne in Stuttgart sein. Zeigen diese und die Ergebnisse für das Rheinland eine Beeinflussung der Luftqualität aufgrund des Lockdown?  Mehr Informationen zur Messkampagne finden Sie auf dieser Webseite unter der Rubrik Medien.

Auch der Leiter eines weiteren Teilprojekts (DLR, Thilo Erbertseder) beteiligte sich an einer Studie des DLR zu den Auswirkungen des Lockdown auf die Luftqualität. Der Satellit Sentinel-5P zeigte im Vergleich zum letzten Jahr global einen starken Rückgang von Stickstoffdioxid (NO2). Durch Einbeziehung von langjährigen Daten des europäischen Satelliten MetOP-A, Messungen an Bodenstationen, der Berücksichtigung von witterungsbedingten Schwankungen der NO2-Konzentrationen und Computermodellierungen, konnte eindeutig eine starke Reduktion des Luftschadstoffes über der Lombardei gezeigt werden. Mehr Informationen zur DLR-Studie finden Sie auf dieser Webseite unter der Rubrik Medien.

 

a

Foto 1: Vorschriftsmäßig gekleidete Wissenschaftler vor den Messwagen des FZ Jülich und des DLR. In der Mitte ist das Messfahrrad des IfK der Universität Stuttgart zu sehen. © DLR/FrankEppler

 
b c
Foto 2: Diskussion am Messfahrrad. © DLR/FrankEppler Foto 3: Vorbereitungen für die Messung. © DLR/Frank Eppler